Daniel Olivas

Daniel Olivas, a second-generation Angeleno, is the author of seven books including, most recently, Things We Do Not Talk About: Exploring Latino Literature Through Essays and Interviews (published by San Diego State University Press), and the award-winning novel The Book of Want. He is the editor of the anthology Latinos in Lotusland, which brings together 60 years of Los Angeles fiction by Latino writers. Widely anthologized, he has also written for the Los Angeles Times, the El Paso Times, The Jewish Journal, Exquisite Corpse, New Madrid, La Bloga (where he blogs each Monday on Chicano and Latino literature), among other print and online publications. By day, Olivas is a supervising deputy attorney general in the Public Rights Division of the California Department of Justice. He now makes his home in the San Fernando Valley with his wife and son.


Three Questions for Ramón García

IN 2007, the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC), in conjunction with the University of Minnesota Press, published its first title ...

Three Questions for Alvaro Huerta

As social scientists and public intellectuals concerned with the plight of those on the bottom, Alvaro Huerta says, we need to think big and bold....

The Second Act of Alex Espinoza

ALEX ESPINOZA, the youngest of 11 children, was born in Tijuana, Mexico, and raised in Los Angeles. After graduating from the ...

On Desert America: Boom and Bust in the New Old West