Lee Smolin

Lee Smolin is a theoretical physicist who was educated at Hampshire College and earned his PhD at Harvard University. He is a founding and senior faculty member at Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics. Prior to joining Perimeter, Smolin held faculty positions at Yale University, Syracuse University, and Pennsylvania State University. Smolin’s research is centered on the problem of quantum gravity, where he helped to found loop quantum gravity, though his contributions span many areas, including quantum foundations, cosmology, particle physics, and the philosophy of physics and economics. He has written more than 180 research papers as well as four non-technical books and co-written a book on the philosophy of time. Smolin’s honors include the Majorana Prize (2007), the Klopsteg Memorial Award (2009), the Buchalter Cosmology Prize (2014), and election as a Fellow of both the American Physical Society and the Royal Society of Canada.