Deborah J. Ross

Deborah Ross began publishing professionally in 1982 as Deborah Wheeler with Jaydium and Northlight, and short stories in Asimov's, F & Sf, Realms of Fantasy, Star Wars: Tales from Jabba's Palace, Sisters of the Night, Bruce Coville's Book of Magic II, and the Sword & Sorceress anthologies. Now under her birth name, Ross, she is continuing the" Darkover" series of the late Marion Zimmer Bradley. The next one will be The Children of Kings (March 2013). In the works are a epic fantasy trilogy, The Seven-Petaled Shield, and an occupation-and-resistance science fiction novel, Collaborators. She's edited a number of anthologies and am a member of the online writer's collective, Book View Café. Two of her stories ("Mother Africa" and "The Price of Silence") have earned Honorable Mention in Year's Best SF.


Cinderella Cyborg

Today Deborah J. Ross reviews Marissa Meyer's Cinder in the second installment of Fairy Tales Revisited. Look for more reviews on ...

Cinderella Cyborg
Feed Your HeadSubscribe to LARB's FREE Newsletter

Open to any author writing in English about the Chicanx/Latinx experience, the Rivera Book Prize is committed to the discovery and fostering of extraordinary writing by a first-time or early career author whose work examines the long and varied contributions of Chicanx/Latinx in the US. The Rivera Book Prize aims to provide a platform that showcases the emerging literary talent of the Chicanx/Latinx community, to cultivate the next generation of Chicanx/Latinx writers, and to continue the rich literary memory of Tomás Rivera, Chicano author, poet, activist, and educator.

Entry Fee: $35. Entry fees are non-refundable.

Apply HERE