Dubravka Ugrešić

Dubravka Ugrešić (born 1949) is a European author whose novels, short stories, and essays have won wide acclaim, and who is the winner of, among other awards, the Neustadt International Prize for Literature. She was born in Yugoslavia, studied Russian and comparative literature at the University of Zagreb, and is currently based in Amsterdam. Her works in English translation include Fording the Stream of Consciousness (1991), In the Jaws of Life (1992), Have A Nice Day: From the Balkan War to the American Dream (1994), The Culture of Lies (1998), Thank You For Not Reading (2003), The Ministry of Pain (2005), Baba Yaga Laid an Egg (2009), Karaoke Culture (2011), and, most recently, Fox (2018) and American Fictionary (2018).


Invisible Europe

Dubravka Ugrešić reflects on today’s Europe and its crises....

Invisible Europe
Feed Your HeadSubscribe to LARB's FREE Newsletter

Open to any author writing in English about the Chicanx/Latinx experience, the Rivera Book Prize is committed to the discovery and fostering of extraordinary writing by a first-time or early career author whose work examines the long and varied contributions of Chicanx/Latinx in the US. The Rivera Book Prize aims to provide a platform that showcases the emerging literary talent of the Chicanx/Latinx community, to cultivate the next generation of Chicanx/Latinx writers, and to continue the rich literary memory of Tomás Rivera, Chicano author, poet, activist, and educator.

Entry Fee: $35. Entry fees are non-refundable.

Apply HERE