Damien Broderick

Damien Broderick is a major critic, reviewer, editor, research academic, and fiction writer. Broderick is well-known for the long work of SF criticism Reading by Starlight: Postmodern Science Fiction (1995) and the book of futurology The Spike (1997), a trailblazing nonfiction book about the technological singularity. His novels include Ditmar Award-winning The Dreaming Dragons (1980), Transmitters (1984), a mainstream novel about SF fandom which won a Special Ditmar Award; Ditmar and Aurealis Award-winner The White Abacus (1997); Aurealis winner Transcension (2002); and Godplayers (2005). With Paul Di Filippo, he recently published Science Fiction: The 101 Best Novels, 1985-2010 (Nonstop Press), and with Grand Master Robert Silverberg he created the composite novel Beyond the Doors of Death (ArcManor).