M. John Harrison

M. John Harrison, one of the leading lights of British New Wave SF in the 1970s, is the author of the space-opera pastiche The Centauri Device, the Borgesian quest fantasy Viriconium Sequence, and the Kefahuchi Tract trilogy (Light, Nova Swing, and Empty Space), which has received the Tiptree, Clarke, and Philip K. Dick Awards. He is one of the finest short story writers in the field, most of his major work being gathered in the 2002 collection Things That Never Happen.

"A good ground rule for writing in any genre is: start with a form, then undermine its confidence in itself. Ask what it's afraid of, what it's trying to hide – then write that."