Terry Tempest Williams

Terry Tempest Williams is the author of numerous books, including Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place; An Unspoken Hunger: Stories from the Field; Desert Quartet; Leap; Red: Patience and Passion in the Desert; The Open Space of Democracy, Finding Beauty in a Broken World, and, most recently, The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks. Williams is recipient of the Robert Marshall Award from The Wilderness Society, their highest honor given to an American citizen; the Distinguished Achievement Award from the Western American Literature Association; the Wallace Stegner Award given by The Center for the American West; a Lannan Literary Fellowship; a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship; The Community of Christ International Peace Award; and the Sierra Club’s John Muir Award.


Storyteller: An Interview with Terry Tempest Williams

Feed Your HeadSubscribe to LARB's FREE Newsletter

Open to any author writing in English about the Chicanx/Latinx experience, the Rivera Book Prize is committed to the discovery and fostering of extraordinary writing by a first-time or early career author whose work examines the long and varied contributions of Chicanx/Latinx in the US. The Rivera Book Prize aims to provide a platform that showcases the emerging literary talent of the Chicanx/Latinx community, to cultivate the next generation of Chicanx/Latinx writers, and to continue the rich literary memory of Tomás Rivera, Chicano author, poet, activist, and educator.

Entry Fee: $35. Entry fees are non-refundable.

Apply HERE